2022 Primary Election FAQs

Although New Mexico continues to be one of just nine states with a closed primary system—meaning only voters registered with one of the state’s three major parties can vote in the primary—a new law makes participation easier this year. Voters who are unaffiliated or registered with a minor party can now register on the same day they cast ballots and, if they register as a Democrat, Republican or Libertarian, vote in the primary.

At the top of the Democratic ticket, the primary contests for state attorney general and auditor have been relatively quiet, while the typically low-interest race for treasurer has featured mudslinging and complaints over conduct from both sides. All are the staging grounds for contested races come November. As for local races, the primary will decide many. In Santa Fe County the sheriff, two county commissioners and a magistrate judge seat are all up for grabs with no competition in the general election. In the state Legislature, only District 46 has a contest for Santa Fe voters, with two candidates challenging incumbent Rep. Andrea Romero.

To see a full list of candidates qualified in the state, visit the secretary of state’s page here.

Read candidate responses to the League of Women Voters here.

Review campaign finance reports via this portal.

*If you requested an absentee ballot by mail and still need to return it, you may do so at the County Clerk’s Office (100 Catron St.) any polling place on Election Day.

Voting Locations for June 7 are open 7 am to 7 pm:

Amy Biehl Community School, 301 Avenida Del Sur

Atalaya Elementary 721 Camino Cabra

Benny J. Chavez Community Center, 354A Juan Medina Rd, Chimayo

Chaparral Elementary, 2451 Avenida Chaparral

Christian Life Church, 121 Siringo Road

El Camino Real Academy, 2500 S Meadows Road

El Rancho Senior Center, 394 County Rd 84

Galisteo Community Center, 35 Avenida Vieja, Galisteo

Glorieta Fire Station, #2 366 Old Denver Highway, Glorieta

Gonzales Community School, 851 W. Alameda St.

Hondo Fire Station, #2 645 Old Las Vegas Highway

La Cienega Community Center, 136 Camino San Jose

La Tierra Fire Station, 6 Arroyo Calabasas Road

Madrid Volunteer Fire Station, 5 Firehouse Lane, Madrid

Max Coll Corridor Community Center, 16 Avenida Torreon

Montezuma Lodge, 431 Paseo De Peralta

Nambe Community Center, 180 NM-503

Nambe Pueblo Tribal Admin., 15 Bayay Poe

Nina Otero Community School 5901 Herrera Drive

Pojoaque Middle School 1797 State Road 502 W, Pojoaque

Salazar Elementary, 1231 Apache Ave.

San Ildefonso Visitors Center, 74 Povi Kaa Drive

Santa Fe County Fairgrounds, 3229 Rodeo Road

Southside Library, 6599 Jaguar Drive

St. John’s Methodist Church, 1200 Old Pecos Trail

Stanley Cyclone Center, 22 W. Kinsell Ave., Stanley

Tesuque Elementary, 1555 Bishops Lodge Road

Tesuque Pueblo Intergenerational Center, 39 TP 804

Tony E. Quintana Elementary, 18670 US 84/285, Espanola

Town of Edgewood Admin Bldg, 171A NM-344, Edgewood

Turquoise Trail Charter School, 13 A San Marcos Loop


Letters to the Editor

Mail letters to PO Box 4910 Santa Fe, NM 87502 or email them to editor[at] Letters (no more than 200 words) should refer to specific articles in the Reporter. Letters will be edited for space and clarity.

We also welcome you to follow SFR on social media (on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter) and comment there. You can also email specific staff members from our contact page.