Nov. 26, 2014

This Week's SFR Picks

Newsletters

Choose your newsletter(s):
* indicates required

SFR Events

Special Issues

 

 
Home / Articles / Cinema /  Movie Reviews

Happy, Not Shiny, People

Hunting is a way of life in Happy People: A Year in the Taiga [yay!]

Movie Reviews Each time some guy in the United States calls himself a hunter, he should be forced to watch Happy People: A Year in the Taiga.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013 David Riedel

Hungry in the Greatest Nation on Earth

A Place at the Table is designed to make you angry [ok]

Movie Reviews It’s difficult to describe what’s more irritating about A Place at the Table.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013 David Riedel

We Had To Create a New Rating

A Glimpse Inside the Mind of Charles Swan III is that bad [Triple Barf]

Movie Reviews It finally happened. There’s a movie so bad, so stupid and so devoid of anything resembling decent characterization, compelling story and eye-catching visuals that it demands only a half-viewing.

Tuesday, February 19, 2013 David Riedel

South of Heaven

West of Memphis aims to be the definitive West Memphis Three story [ok]

Movie Reviews Now that Damien Echols, Jessie Misskelley and Jason Baldwin, the so-called West Memphis Three, are free, do we need more media devoted to them?

Tuesday, February 19, 2013 David Riedel

It’s Like Casablanca, But a Hospital, And Miserable

Peter Nicks’ 'The Waiting Room' is excellent [yay!]

Movie Reviews The Waiting Room is filled with heartbreak. It’s also some of the most riveting documentary filmmaking you’ll see this year, or any year.

Tuesday, February 12, 2013 David Riedel

Bring a Barf Bag

'Safe Haven' just plain sucks [double barf]

Movie Reviews Here’s the bottom line on the latest in a seemingly never-ending series of Nicholas Sparks adaptations: It’s a piece of shit.

Tuesday, February 12, 2013 David Riedel

May Include Stabbing and Death…

'Side Effects' may be Steven Soderbergh’s last movie [yay!]

Movie Reviews The trailers for Side Effects, director Steven Soderbergh’s new thriller, make it look like an indictment of all things pharmaceutical.

Tuesday, February 5, 2013 David Riedel

Je t’aime, Amour

'Amour' is honest and complex [yay!]

Movie Reviews Nowhere will you find a more honest, searching and complex story told with such ease, care and compassion.

Tuesday, February 5, 2013 David Riedel

He’s Alive-ish! Alive-ish!

'Warm Bodies' finds humanity in the undead [ok]

Movie Reviews Here’s a serious question: Do we really need another zombie movie? Apparently we do.

Tuesday, January 29, 2013 David Riedel

2013 Oscar-nominated Shorts [yay!]

This year’s Oscar shorts melted our icy film reviewer’s heart.

Movie Reviews Because of technical problems that I still don’t understand, only three of the five Oscar-nominated animated shorts were available to me at press time.

Tuesday, January 29, 2013 David Riedel
 
« Prev 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 Next »
 
Close
Close
Close